top of page

Spicy Szechuan Noodles

Updated: Apr 20, 2020

This is one way to spice up Ramen noodles! Growing up, I remember I would always look forward to coming home and cooking myself a nice warm bowl of Ramen soup. Don't worry, I know that it wasn't healthy in the slightest. But it's just one of those comfort foods that always brings back my childhood. Since I am a college student and on a budget, Ramen noodles sounded like the perfect dinner choice! I hope that you enjoy this recipe as much as I did!



Servings: 2 (easy to cut in half or double)

Ingredients:

-2 packages of Ramen noodles (It doesn't matter what flavor, you won't be using the flavor packet. The oriental and chili flavors are fully vegan however)

-2 cups California medley vegetables (fresh or frozen)

-2 Tbsp stir-fry sauce

-3 Tbsp spicy szechuan sauce

-2 tsp reduced sodium soy sauce

-1 Tbsp minced garlic (about 3 cloves)

-1 Tbsp olive oil

-Toppings: chopped roasted peanuts and red pepper flakes





Directions:

1. Start boiling the Ramen noodles.

2. While the noodles are cooking, cook the vegetables with garlic and olive oil in a medium size sauce pan over medium-high heat. I recommend putting a thin layer of water at the bottom of the pan and covering with a lid to essentially steam the vegetables.

3. Make sure to keep an eye on the noodles! Remove them from heat and drain when they are al dente.

4. Once the vegetables are cooked, remove the lid and saute until slightly browned.

5. Reduce heat and add in the stir-fry sauce and the soy sauce to the vegetables, then stir.

6. Remove the pan from heat and add in the noodles along with the szechuan sauce and stir. Be really careful not to overcook the noodles at this step!

7. Once finished, top the dish with chopped roasted peanuts and red chili flakes and enjoy!


Be sure to let me know if you try this recipe!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page