top of page

Plant-based "Fried Egg" Breakfast Sandwich

Before I switched my diet, eggs were a staple for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for me. I know, I had a problem! They were just so convenient and easy to cook. Although I got over my egg addiction when I went plant-based, I still like the convenience of a nice breakfast sandwich! So this is my version of a fried egg, plant-based breakfast sandwich!


Servings: 2 (can easily use the whole block of tofu for 4 servings)

Ingredients:

-1/2 block of extra firm tofu

-toast (or a bagel is always a great choice!)

-vegan butter

-olive oil

-turmeric

-salt

-pepper

-other toppings of your choice (salsa, avocado, vegan cheese, and hot sauce are some of my favorites)


Directions:

1. Press out all of the moisture you can from the block of tofu.

2. Cut the tofu in to about 4 thick slices and then heavily coat all slices in turmeric, then add a dash of salt and pepper. This will give you sort of an egg flavor.

3. Place a pan on the stove with a very light coating of olive oil and heat over medium heat.

4. Place the tofu slices in the pan and let cook until very slightly browned on one side. Flip the slices and repeat for the other side.

5. Once the tofu is done, it's time to assemble your sandwich!

6. Do this by spreading a thin layer of vegan butter on the toast, next add the tofu, and then add on all of your favorite toppings! You could eat this as a sandwich or open-faced like in the picture.

7. Enjoy!


Be sure to let me know if you try this recipe!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page